As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

Like Aliens, this is another movie I bought at the Virgin Mega Store in San Francisco when it was bout to go out of business.

I first saw Apocalypse Now in high school because I took a class called “Literature & Film.” As the name suggests, we would read books and watch the movies they were made into. I thought Joseph Conrad’s Heart of Darkness was a pretty bad book. This movie, however, is pretty amazing. It may not be an accurate portrayal of the Vietnam War on a technical basis, but one my my classmates said her father thinks it shows how it felt to be a soldier in that war. As for me, I was pulled in by how weird and trippy the movies is. The documentary about the making of Apocalypse NowHearts of Darkness, is also a pretty compelling watch.

The version of the DVD I owned was the tricked-out edition that included the Redux version where Francis Ford Coppola recut the movie to include footage that he had left out to make the film more commercial. I personally like the original theatrical version more. The Redux version gets a bit too weird and includes many scenes that were rightfully cut from the theatrical release. This DVD became expendable because I bought this movie on iTunes.

