As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

Die Hard is considered by many to be the greatest action movie of all time. It’s almost always at or near the top of such lists by most critics. I tend to agree with that conventional wisdom. Before Die Hard, most action movies featured superhuman heroes like Arnold Schwarzenegger and Sylvester Stallone facing off against cartoonish villains. Die Hard stars Bruce Willis playing a regular NYPD cop facing a smart, polished villain. The movie is a classic western set in a Los Angeles high rise. This is a combination that sounds lame on the surface, but works well because of the execution.

I bought this DVD at the Virgin Mega Store in San Francisco. It was the two-disc steelbook version with a bunch of special features. I’m not sure if it was during its going-out-of-business sale, but I know it was on sale. This DVD became obsolete when I bought it on iTunes for $4.99. At the time I bought it, the iTunes version didn’t have any special features. However, all the special features have been added on iTunes fairly recently. They even included the director’s commentary track. Yay!

