As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

I first saw Fight Club while a college student at UC Berkeley. It was one of the first movies I bought on DVD after getting a DVD player. It was also one o f the first DVDs I owned that came as a two-disc package with a bunch of special features.

As one of the oldest DVDs I owned, it didn’t hold up well over the years in terms of technical specifications. In the early years of the format, many of the first DVDs had picture and sound that would be unacceptable now.

Upgrading to the iTunes versions when it was on sale was a pretty easy decision even though it contained no special features. The movie looks great on HD in a way the old DVD never could.

Watching to movie now as an adult it is weird. I no longer have a lot of the angst that this movies tapped into. A lot of the themes that appealed to me so earnestly seem much more silly now. The movie is still fun to watch, but in a different way. That being said, this was a hard one sell for nostalgia’s sake.

