As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

I remember the day I saw JJ Abrams’ reboot of Star Trek in the theater. I was supposed to see this movie with a friend, but had just endured a terrible day. Watching this movie cheered me up in a great, unexpected way. I was a casual Star Trek fan at best, but Abrams was able to infuse the property with such much-needed freshness and energy. I was particularly impressed by the cast who were able to give their own takes on familiar characters.

I remember this DVD because the circumstances by which I bought it were weird. I bought the two-disc edition when it became available on Amazon. However, it took a long time to get delivered to my home. According to the tracking, it would reach Bakersfield before getting sent back to its originating hub in Kentucky. Apparently, there was something about that last leg of Bakersfield to San Francisco the shipping couldn’t overcome.

I called Amazon after this happened twice. They responded by sending the DVD via express shipping at no extra cost while refunding the money I had spent on my original purchase. It goes without saying that I was satisfied by customer support. I’ve remained a loyal Amazon customer ever since

I sold this DVD after buying the movie on blu-ray. The new version contained a digital copy on iTunes that ported over all the special features.

