As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

As of this posting, Logan has been in the theaters for a few weeks. I’ve seen it more than once, but the movie draws me in each time. It’s one of the most emotionally-engaging movies I’ve ever seen. I hadn’t been so affected by a movie since I saw Star Wars: The Force Awakens. That says a lot because the Star Wars movies are probably my favorite movies of all time. Logan was an amazing way for Hugh Jackman to end his stint as the iconic character.

That being said, I still like The Wolverine quite a bit. As Japanese-American, I’m always curious to see how Japan and Japanese people are depicted in media. I give this movie a lot of credit because the Japanese characters are played by Japanese actors who speak Japanese for much of the movie. That may seem like a low bar, but it’s almost never met in movies of this type. Although mostly shot in Australia, I was pleasantly surprised by how much of the movies was actually shot in Japan. Separated from the rest of the X-Men movie universe, The Wolverine operates well as a stand-alone movie telling a more focused story with more of an edge.

I bought this DVD at Best Buy right before getting my blu-ray drive. It became redundant after I bought the blu-ray version that had an extended unrated cut with a bunch of special features. The blu-ray also came with digital copies on iTunes and UltraViolet. I can’t wait to skip the intermediate step to buy Logan when it comes out on blu-ray in a few months.

