Forgive me for the obvious title, but I’m still trying to get back in the routine of blogging.

I don’t have a lot of hobbies, but watching movies on regular basis is one that I truly enjoy. I feel fortunate to live in an age when going to the theater is not the only means to watch a movie. The theater experience is something that can’t be replaced, but having a library of movies available in both physical and digital formats is pretty amazing.

I’ve been thinking about movies (and how I watch them) a lot recently because I’ve been selling off my DVD collection. It’s been a weird process because I was an early adopter of the technology. I bought my first DVD player while in college, and have been buying DVDs ever since. As a person with limited funds, I got pretty good at finding deals. I eventually amassed a collection of over 300 DVDs. That’s not a lot when compared to those who own literally thousands of DVDs, but my struggle to find shelf space over the years would suggest otherwise.

My transition away from DVD toward blu-ray and digital occurred gradually over time.

It started when I joined Netflix. I was a late adopter to Netflix, but loved the service right away. As someone who lived near a Blockbuster Video growing up, I liked having access to a unlimited inventory of DVDs available to rent via mail. However, I quickly enjoyed having access to their streaming library. The selection was somewhat limited, but having that much entertainment accessible via my computer was pretty neat.

Even after becoming a dedicated Netflix subscriber, I still bought movies on DVD for quite some time. I started buying blu-rays because they would come with a DVD copy of the movie while being less expensive than the DVD-only versions. I didn’t matter that I didn’t own a blu-ray player, getting that blu-ray was a bonus that I could take advantage of later. For the record, the first blu-ray I ever bought was Inception.

Over the next few years, my home movie collection grew to become a patchwork of blu-rays and DVDs. I eventually owned enough blu-rays to justify a blu-ray player. I watched DVDs on my computer because it has a better screen than my television, so I bought an external blu-ray drive that connected via USB port.

An unexpected benefit of buying so many blu-rays was discovering that they came with redemption codes for digital copies of the movie. These things are great. They give me access to the movie without needing to use the blu-ray at all. I’m personally a fan of iTunes because many of the special features carry over. I can also download a copy of the movie to keep on my hard drive or burn to a disc as a backup.

As I favored blu-ray and digital on an increasing basis, my old DVD collection became obsolete. It’s hard to go back to standard definition after getting used to high quality picture and sound.

My collection of television shows on DVD were particularly inconvenient. In addition to taking up too much shelf space, they aren’t particularly re-watchable. Watching a movie takes two hours. Watching a season of a television show can take between ten to twenty hours. That’s a lot of time to devote to a story I already know the ending of.

Last year, I started selling off my old DVDs via Amazon and eBay. It’s been a weird process. Some DVDs sell for a lot. Others sell for hardly anything at all. The sales come waves. Long periods of inactivity have been interrupted by weeks where I’ve gone to the UPS store or post office everyday. In any event, I can’t really complain because I’ve made a decent profit from selling off my DVD collection.

The strangest part of selling off my DVDs is that I still remember when I bought each of these things. It sounds weird, but I sometimes get a wave of nostalgia upon shipping a DVD that I’ve owned for many years.

Consequently, I plan to blog about the DVDs I’ve sold. It’s a way to kill time, but also look back at what movies I’ve enjoyed over the years. Actually, both those goals sound pretty lame. Let’s do it anyway.

