As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

I first saw Blade Runner as a child when visiting relatives in Japan. This was during the 1980s, and I was totally down to watch another movie starring the actor know for playing Han Solo and Indiana Jones. The version of the movie I saw at that time was the international cut, which had no voice0ver. When I saw the original American version years later, I found the voiceover to be a jarring distraction. That being said, the movie was visually stunning and captivated my imagination in a way few films could.

The version of Blade Runner I bought on DVD was the four-disc collector’s edition that included all the different versions that were released over the years. The set included a final cut that Ridley Scott created for the film’s 25th anniversary.

Despite the copious bonus features included in this DVD set, I sold it after buying the movie on iTunes when it was on sale. This is where things get weird. The iTunes version of Blade Runner had some special features for the film’s 30th anniversary. However, those special features are no longer available. One of my quibbled with movies on iTunes is that special features tend to appear and disappear with no notice. It’s probably a licensing issue of some kind.

On a side note, this is one of the few DVDs I ever bought at Best Buy where the packaging was cracked and damaged on the inside. I would have asked for an exchange, but I lost my receipt before opening it up at home.

