As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

Sledge Hammer! was an obscure television show that aired on ABC during the 1980s that lasted only two seasons. During its first season, it ran opposite Dallas and Miami Vice. Competing against two popular television shows of that era resulted in dismal ratings. It managed to avoid cancellation, but moved to the time slot directly opposite The Cosby Show. Competing against the most popular show in America at that at time was too much to handle.

According to the research, Sledge Hammer! was only popular amongst children between the ages of eight and twelve. That’s where I fit in. I bought both seasons of the show on DVD purely out of a nostalgia. It didn’t take long to realize that a show meant for adults that only resonated with kids during the 1980s wouldn’t age well.

The show’s premise is actually quite novel. The main character, Sledge Hammer, is an overly aggressive gun-loving cop to wreaks mayhem while investigating crimes. The idea was to have a parody of Clint Eastwood’s character in the Dirty Harry movies. That may sound silly, but I suppose that’s the point.

I’ve previously blogged about how owning television shows on DVD is a waste of time and money. I was surprised that a secondary market existed for this show. I seized the opportunity to sell Sledge Hammer! when it came about.

