As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

There’s a lot to like about True Romance. It’s a solid movie. The best aspect is that it’s written by Quentin Tarantino, who is one of best filmmakers working today.

Some people don’t like Tarantino. Some say he recycles too many classic movie tropes. Others don’t like the use of violence or bad language. I think those people simply have poor taste in movies.

That being said, True Romance is a rough movie. It has a lot of Tarantino’s trademarks in terms of characters and dialogue, but something just seems a bit off. Maybe it has something to do with Tony Scott directing the film to add his own visual style. Tony Scott is a solid director but Tarantino’s writing is so distinctive that it seems weird to see a story he penned interpreted by someone else.

The version of the movie I owned on DVD was actually really good. It was the tricked-out version with a ton of special features. It includes an audio commentary track with Quentin Tarantino himself, which is rare because he doesn’t do commentary tracks for his own films.

I like True Romance a lot, but I didn’t like it enough to not sell it.

