As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

As I’ve gotten older, I’ve arrived at the belief that an individual movie should stand on its own. That holds true even if it’s part of a series of films. This idea should also apply to movies based on a true story or book.

However, there was a time when I held the exact opposite position. If there was an upcoming movie I wanted to see that was based on a book, I would read that book in the interim. I was aware of the events in the story of Black Hawk Down, but I wanted to go into the movie as well-informed as possible. The book is quite a fascinating read, and I highly recommend it.

The movie Black Hawk Down is quite good. It’s not as good some of Ridley Scott’s other work, but it’s a solid war movie. That’s why I bought the tricked out three-disc edition when it was on sale at Amazon. I sold it when I realized that I hadn’t seen any of the special features more than once.

Owning on movie on home video is determined by a number of factors. A compulsive nature of a collector is certainly part of it. However, owning a movie just to own it isn’t enough by itself. The primary measure should be whether I’m going to watch the movie on a repeated basis to justify the initial spending of money. Many of the movies I’ve sold have been replaced by better versions on blu-ray, iTunes, and UltraViolet.

Black Hawk Down is a fine book and movie, but owning a movie that I’m probably not going to see again isn’t worth not selling it on DVD. If I want to see in the future, I could just rent it.

