As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

Like any child raised during the 1980s, E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial is a movie that I have special affection for. Watching it now, I can appreciate how much of a craftsman Steven Spielberg brought to it as a filmmaker. In particular, being able to get the audience to emotionally invest in the relationship between a child and mechanical puppet. I’ve never made a movie, but directing children with untried technology must be challenging.

I bought this DVD when it was on sale at Best Buy. I sold if after the iTunes version went on sale. The iTunes version didn’t port over any of the special features, but there weren’t hat many on the DVD to begin with. That’s one of my main quibbles with Steven Spielberg, who’s one of my favorite movie directors. His movies don’t tend to have an abundance of special features when released on home video.