As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

When Marvel Studios announced its Phase I slate of films, the one I was the most skeptical about was Captain America: The First AvengerIron Man had just come out as a smashing success, so the viability of that character in the movies was firmly established. The Incredible Hulk had come out to less fanfare, but casual moviegoers were familiar with the Hulk enough to watch him in future movies. Thor hadn’t come out yet, but I actually thought that movie would do well because The Lord of the Rings movies showed there was a market for fantasy-based movies.

Captain America was a character that people were familiar with, but his viability in a movie was easy to doubt. So much of that character’s appeal was rooted in the 1940s, so I couldn’t see how it would translate with a modern sensibility. Specifically, I couldn’t see how that outfit would work. Even as a period piece, I just had trouble seeing how it could work without being silly.

Fast forward to 2017, the Captain America films are the best of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. They even surpass the main Avengers movies in my opinion. I think Captain America: The Winter Solider is the best Marvel Studio movies by a far margin.

When it first came out, I liked Captain America: The First Avenger quite a bit. It was a solid movie to lead up to The Avengers, which came out the following summer. I bought it on DVD, but sold it years later when the blu-ray went on sale at Target. Marvel had been bought by Disney by then, to the blu-ray came with an iTunes digital copy.

Strangely, this DVD sold for an unusually high price. This is odd because it’s a mainstream movie that’s still widely available on DVD.

