As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

This was a difficult movie on DVD for me to sell because it’s the Criterion Collection edition with a bunch of special features. The movie is quite good, but the experience of watching the Criterion edition elevates to whole experience. I was especially captivated by the features explaining the special effects that aged Brad Pitt and Cate Blanchett up and down.

My favorite tidbit is that the movies was structured so that Pitt and Blanchett would play their actual ages for the middle hour of the movie. This was meant to minimize the need  for aging effects and makeup. However, they discovered that Cate Blanchett still looked too good when playing he actual age. At first glance, this simply sounds like a way to complement Cat Blanchett. However, the point was that hundreds of thousands of dollars had to be spent in order to make the actress look five years older. This is money that hadn’t been budgeted for.

That being said, I still sold this DVD despite all the special features because I’ve seen them all enough to have my fill for the rest of my life. The movie itself is quite good, so I recommend it for those who are interested.

