As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

I remember seeing Saving Private Ryan back in the theater back in 1998. It was a sold out show in a time when there were no advanced ticket sales or assigned seating. My friends and I had a challenging time getting tickets. We even came over from Berkeley to San Francisco to see it in a good theater.

Saving Private Ryan isn’t Steven Spielberg’s best film, but it’s pretty great. The opening battle sequence depicting the invasion of Normandy is some of the best filmmaking I’ve ever seen. Check it out.

I bought this movie when it first came out on DVD. However, the picture quality always bothered me. I thought it was because Spielberg was going for a grainy visual style consistent with a World War II movie. After buying the movie on sale at iTunes, I realized the DVD simply wasn’t good enough. I think it had something to do with the compression rate. The movie is quite long and a DVD has a limit to the amount of data it can contain.

In any event, the movie looks great in high definition.

