As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

The Godfather movies have had a complicated history on home video. As a result, it took an incredibly long time for a high definition restoration to be released. Read this interesting article about the process here.

I didn’t have a blu-ray player at the time, so I bought Parts I and II on DVD. The Coppola Restorations were still pretty good, but I missed out on the benefits of the high definition work that had been done. It was still good to have one of the greatest movies of all time on home video, but an upgrade was inevitable.

I bought The Godfather when it went on sale at iTunes. I would have saved more money had I bought the entire trilogy, but I didn’t like the third installment enough to own it at all. It took quite a while for the price of Part II to drop on iTunes, so this Part I was the only Godfather I owned on iTunes for quite a while.

I’m glad to own the high definition version on iTunes because the picture quality is quite a bit better than the DVD. It’s not perfect, but that has a lot to do with the film being originally released in 1972. My only gripe is that the informative audio commentary track by Francis Ford Coppola wasn’t ported over.

