As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

The X-Men movie franchise hasn’t been to most consistent over the years. It reached a depressing nadir in 2009 with X-Men Origins: Wolverine, which is a true slog to watch. As a result, the producers and 20th Century Fox to try something drastic to reboot the franchise.

The prequel fad started with Star Wars: The Phantom Menace, but really started with comic book movies in 2005 with Christopher Nolan’s Batman Begins. The subsequent success of The Dark Knight meant we’d be getting a slew of prequel reboots in all sorts of flagging movie franchises.

Fortunately, X-Men: First Class is a very good movie. It was a solid way to reboot the X-Men movie franchise. I think it has a lot to do with having Matthew Vaughn direct with a much harder edge than Bryan Singer. It feels much more like a 1960s James Bond movie than a standard comic book movie.

Additionally, the new cast, playing the younger versions of the characters we already know, is very good. In particular, James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender are standouts. Neither look a whole lot like Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen, respectively. However, both are quite convincing in terms of character and performance,

I liked X-Men: First Class so much that I bought it when it was initially released on DVD. I sold it after buying the blu-ray when it was on sale at Best Buy for $4.99. The blu-ray came with an iTunes digital copy. Unfortunately, this edition of the blu-ray was made before 20th Century Fox also included a digital copy on UltraViolet.

