As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

The topic of how owning full seasons of television shows is a waste of time is well-worn in this series of postings. The example of Deadwood is weird. I owned the first two seasons, and loved them because the show was amazing. However, the show’s creator decided to end the show after the third season because he wanted to start a show on HBO called John from Cincinnati. I borrowed the third season of Deadwood from a friend, and it ends abruptly with no closure whatsoever. There was clearly meant to be a fourth season that ended up never happening.

Deadwood is still a great show, but it was something of an unfulfilling experience overall because of how it ended. To make matters worse, John from Cincinnati was cancelled after one season amidst bad responses from critics and viewers. Owning the first two seasons of Deadwood on DVD were just a reminder of that disappointment.