As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

Sunshine is something of a polarizing. It’s a smart, well-constructed science fiction story. However, that’s only true for the first two thirds. The last third of the movie is a trippy, horror thriller that seems disconnected from what came before.

I tend to split the difference, but lean toward the positive end. The parts that are great about Sunshine that no third act, unless it’s utter crap, can make it into a bad movie overall. The movie is very good, looks great, and has amazing performances by a less-than-famous cast.

Movies set is space, like Sunshine, depend heavily on visuals. The standard definition of DVD just isn’t good enough. I sold my DVD copy when the movie when it came on sale on iTunes. None of the special features were ported over, which is disappointing because Danny Boyle’s audio commentary track is quite good.

