As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been selling off my DVDs. This post is part of a series where I briefly discuss the DVDs I’ve sold. Here’s the next installment.

I saw Casablanca relatively late in life. When I turned 30, I felt a need to fill in the gaps of my knowledge of movies. After joining Netflix, one of my goals was to watch many of the classic movies considered to be amongst the greatest of all time. Casablanca certainly qualifies.

Not surprisingly, Casablanca is great. The DVD also came with a ton of special features. I especially appreciated the audio commentary track with the late Roger Ebert. If you ever rent a DVD of a movie with an audio track with Ebert, be sure to listen to it. He’s engaging and well-informed in a way most people of commentary tracks are not. The best part about Roger Ebert in a commentary track is that his enthusiasm and love for movies is apparent throughout.

I sold my DVD of Casablanca after I bought it on sale at iTunes. There was really no good reason to upgrade. Black-and-white movies often don’t look that much better in high definition. The iTunes special features are identical to the ones on the DVD, and included the aforementioned audio commentary track with Roger Ebert. I also bought the DVD on sale at Best Buy for $3.99, so I still could have used it a backup. Anyways, it’s too late now to reconsider.

